Indigenous in Music with Larry K - Brandis B. Knudsen in our Spotlight Interview (Hip Hop)

Indigenous in Music with Larry K – Brandis B. Knudsen in our Spotlight Interview (Hip Hop)

Welcome to Indigenous in Music, This week we welcome from the Yankton Sioux Nation, Hip Hop performer, Mr. Brandis B. Knudsen is in the house.  Were helping him celebrate with his newest release, he’s brings us “Dakota South Records: A Decade of Hits.”  Brandis is featured in our current issue of the SAY Magazine, read all about him here

Enjoy music from Brandis B. Knudsen, Leonard Sumner, Kelly Frasier, Carsen Gray, Dj Bitman, Nora Norman, Jurassic 5, Triballistas, Iceis Rain, Latin Vibe, Mattmac, Drezus, Samantha Crain, Old Soul Rebel, Shawn Michael Perry, The City Lines, Matcitim, Crystal Shawanda, Celeigh Cardinal, Irv Lyons Jr, Spirit Cry, Ed Koban, Campo, DJ krayzkree, Black Bear, A Tribe Called Red, Jamie Prado, Lil Mike & Funny Bone, Richie Ledreagle, Joey Stylez, Dragonette and much much more.  

Visit us on our homepage at and visit our Two Buffalo Virtual Gallery, currently featuring Tracy Lee Nelson.



It has been 10 years since Dakota South Records released their first album in 2012. Since then, the label has had a lot to celebrate with seven music awards and more than twenty nominations across the US and Canada. Dakota South Records’ artists have opened for Nelly, Juvenile, MGK, Tech N9ne, Lil Jon, Three 6 Mafia, The Ying Yang Twins, Paul Wall, Afroman, Snow Tha Product, Tom MacDonald, Do or Die, Nappy Roots, Babba Sparxxx, and more. With recorded sales in more than 125 countries, Dakota South Records is quickly rising to the top of the music industry and playlists across the world!

To commemorate this success, the label has released their newest album, “Dakota South Records: A Decade of Hits” on April 8th, 2022 and is available on all major streaming platforms and The album is a compilation of 22 of the labels’ most popular songs over the last 10 years from Brandis B. Knudsen (B. of Dakota South Records), Bud Holly, Damon Perry, and juQ, including features from Hopsin, Night Shield, Chris Huisenga, C-NICE-1, Bert Malcom, and Nae Nae. An independent panel of music industry experts along with Spotify and Apple Music data was utilized to select the tracks for “Dakota South Records: A Decade of Hits”, which includes the award-winning singles “Come and Get Your Love” by B. of Dakota South Records and “What You Left with Me” by Brandis B. Knudsen ft. juQ. The album also includes all of the labels previously released singles and nominated tracks along with other fan favorites including the labels most streamed single, “Lay the Pipe” by B. of Dakota South Records ft. Hopsin, spanning the labels previous 13 releases over the past decade all on one album.

The labels first release in 2012, was the self-titled debut album from Dakota South Records’ artist and President, Brandis B. Knudsen under his alias, B. of Dakota South Records. Knudsen took the Native American music industry by storm with his debut album featuring Hopsin, Spice-1, and platinum accredited producer, Lex Lucazi, scoring multiple award nominations and wins. He continued this success with his sophomore album, “OHHH! B.” featuring the hit single “Come and Get Your Love”. Containing an authorized sample of the 1974 Top 5 Billboard 100 single from Redbone, “Come and Get Your Love” received Single of the Year honors at the Native American Music Awards in New York. Following the success of the single, Dakota South Records released a music video for “Come and Get Your Love”, which was quickly broadcast on FNX and its 23 affiliate TV stations across the US. “Come and Get Your Love” would also receive the award for Best Hip Hop Video at the L.A. Music Video Awards.

Prior to releasing his sophomore album, “OHHH! B.”, Knudsen signed juQ to Dakota South Records. juQ would be heavily featured on Knudsen’s sophomore release prior to releasing his debut EP, ‘ogp.” featuring the nominated single “Callingbull” and his first full length album, “tempo.” including the nominated single “Luta” in 2016.

In 2018, Knudsen decided to expand the label further with the additions of Bud Holly and Damon Perry, who would both record and release their debut EPs that year and follow up in 2019 with their first full length album releases in 2019. Bud Holly also released his second EP in 2020 including the single, “Nice to Meet You” ft. Chris Huisenga with an accompanying music video.

Most recently, Knudsen won Best Hip Hop Song at the Indian Summer Music Awards for “What You Left with Me” ft. juQ, marking his seventh award win out of nineteen nominations. “What You Left with Me” was the first single to be released from his upcoming album, “Full Name in Lights” and is also featured on “Dakota South Records: A Decade of Hits”.

The label will also be releasing a 10th Anniversary Remixed Edition of B. of Dakota South Records debut album later this year. The 10th Anniversary album will include new versions of the previously released tracks with new guest artist features as well as new and re-recorded versions of some of the earlier songs. More new music from Dakota South Records is expected to be announced soon!